Stone Archway at Winterthur

A few months ago I visited Winterthur, the home of the late Henry Francis du Pont, a philanthropist  and horticulturist.  The 1000 acre estate has been open to the public for 60 years.

I came across this stone archway in one of the gardens.  I liked its construction as well as how it framed the foliage on the other side.

Stone Gate at Winterthur

 I thought the imperfection and discoloration of the stone gave it character and showed age.  I also found the visual contrast between the stone and the foliage to be quite interesting.

 I used iSplash to exaggerate the contrast, I hope I did not over do it.

 Let me know what you think.

 

20 thoughts on “Stone Archway at Winterthur

  1. i think the contrast works well 😉

    nice composition and the textural continuity between the stones and foliage ties them the same time the materials contrast them

    i’m not familiar with splash, you like it so far? or use it much?

    • Thanks so much for the nice comment. iSplash is real easy to use. Your selected photo is converted to black and white. You then paint the color back on to the photo.

      I like the application a lot, but I don’t want to over use it. Thanks for visiting my Blog!!!

  2. Absolutely, absolutely stunning! I don’t know iSplash but sometimes I use similar filter effects like Topaz or Lightroom and I think you did a great job here! The contrast of the wall against the foliage is absolutely exellent and I absolutely love this photo! Great shot! 🙂

  3. The contrast between black and white and colour is a little unrealistic, but that just sets up a stronger sense that the door leads to a different world—I think it works well metaphorically and visually it’s really striking.

Leave a Reply

