Jamaican Water Lilly

I usually find it difficult to take photos when traveling with my family.  I like to take time looking at scenes and objects from different angles and vantage points.  This is a lot of fun for me, but can be disruptive to non-photographers in the group.  

On a family vacation to Jamaica I agreed to modify my usual process and take only quick shots and not interrupt the “flow” for everyone else.  I was not sure how things were going to work out, but I wanted everyone to enjoy Jamaica.

 

 

I got this shot of a Water Lilly as we were starting a bus tour.  I only had time to take one quick shot and was not sure at the time how the photograph would look.

The situation was not ideal, but at the end of it all I like how this photo turned out. 

Maybe some of you can let me know how you deal with your photography on family vacations.  

9 thoughts on “Jamaican Water Lilly

  1. I haven’t been on a real vacation since seriously getting into photography and knowing how to use my camera (like 3 years)….sad I know. But when we do go on little outings on the extended weekends I sort of feel the same way. I think if I were to actually go on a vacation though I would definitely allot myself some snap time. Even if it’s only an hour or something when the kids are taking a nap or what have you. My husband is pretty understanding about how much I love this hobby so he’d encourage it. Lovely photo 🙂

    • I think your right it’s important to get some alone time to take pictures, even on vacation. I seem to take better photos when I strike out on my own or with other photographers.

      I really like the picture that you took of the tree with the purple plants growing out of the bark!!! Thanks for the nice comment and happy shooting.

  2. Gosh, your photos are so beautiful!! How do you get them so perfectly sharp? I strive for this. But, I am just a beginner. Hopefully, in time. I love your blog. So inspiring.

Leave a Reply

