The Year of the Dragon

No visit to New York is complete without a trip down to Chinatown. This is particularly true during Chinese New Years.

January 23, 2012 marked the beginning of the Year of the Dragon. The year was brought in with 2 weeks of celebrations that included parades, fireworks, and colorful traditional attire.

I had the pleasure this year of attending the Lunar Celebration Parade. The excitement and energy of this event was unbelievable. As I walked along the parade taking pictures I was amazed at the level of jubilance in the air. I was also blown away by the music, decorations and costumes.

I have posted a few pictures below to illustrate the mood of the event.

Please let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

